The CalConnect Board of Directors

As of October 2016


At this time, CalConnect has five elected directors. All of our elected directors also hold officer positions of the corporation. The Chair of TC CHAIRS and the Interoperability Test Manager attend Board calls as Ex Officio non-voting members.


The Board holds quarterly Board Meetings in January, April, July, and October, almost always by conference call. The Board also has a brief bi-weekly conference call for strategic planning and current events update; the Chair of TC CHAIRS (the Technical Committee coordination group) and the Interperability Test Event Manager attend these calls occasionally to update the Board on status and current events.  The Board has also held strategic planning retreats twice, in 2005 and 2012, and anticipates doing so every few years in the future.



President, Director
Rutger Geelen
Affiliation: SchedJoules
Term: July 2014 - July 2017
Chair of the Board of Directors, Director
Scott Mace
Affiliation: HealthLeaders Media
Term: July 2015 - July 2018
Chief Financial Officer, Director
Gary Schwartz
Affiliation: Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Term: July 2014 - July 2017
Vice President, Director
Ciny Joy
Affiliation: Oracle
Term: July 2015 - July 2018
Secretary, Director
Dave Thewlis
Affiliation: DCTA Inc.
Term: July 2016 - July 2019

Mr. Thewlis also serves as Executive Director of CalConnect via an Association Management Contract between DCTA Inc. and The Calendaring and Scheduling Consortium.
Chair of TC CHAIRS, Ex Officio non-voting Director
Thomas Schäfer
Affiliation: 1&1
Term: October 2016 - October 2018
Interoperability Test Manager, Ex Officio non-voting Director
Michael Douglass
Affiliation: Spherical Cow Group
Term: February 2016 - February 2017